New Music Fridays: Suicide Squad, Ty Dolla $ign & More

Friday’s are incredibly exciting here at the Warner Music South Africa office. New Music Fridays is a day when all new releases hit digital and physical stores around the world. Every week, we will showcase some of our exciting releases right here on our website as we help you get your weekend playlist sorted. These are what new releases you should check out this week:

Various Artists – Suicide Squad: The Album (Collectors Edition)

It’s no secret that the Suicide Squad soundtrack is one of the hottest soundtracks released this year. It’s been doing amazing things on the charts so we decided to release a collectors edition of the release for all the die-hard fans out there. The album features the original tracks plus Super Freaks by Rick James, Spirit in the Sky by Norman Greenbaum and I’d Rather Go Blind by Etta James. It’s available digitally from today and it’s a release we’re really excited about.

Devendra Banhart – Ape In Pink Marble

Devendra Banhart releases his ninth studio album today. The album, titled ‘Ape In Pink Marble’ includes his new singles ‘Middle Names’ and ‘Saturday Night’. If you’re looking for deep, meaningful music, this is a must-listen to this week. Marcy Donelson from AllMusic stated, “The album’s overall effect is one of strolling along a seaside path, maybe with a stray dog and a straw hat, in a less-frequented village somewhere far from home, and it’s one of Banhart’s most satisfying.”

Randy Newman – The Randy Newman Songbook Vol 3

Randy Newman has been releasing a series comprising solo recordings of songs from throughout his five-decade career. With volumes one and two already out, he releases the third segment of the series today – five years after the release of volume two. The four-LP box contains everything Newman recorded for his Songbook series and is a beautiful piece of work.

Ty Dolla $ign – Campaign

As election season is in full swing in the United States, rapper Ty Dolla $ign drops his brand new mixtape ‘Campaign’ this week. This is the first time the rapper has released new material since he dropped his debut album ‘Free TC’ last year. The 16-track mixtape features both “bedroom bangers”, classic hip-hop and, as the title suggests, some politically-charged tracks as well.